Avernum 3: Ruined World

Avernum 3: Ruined World is a downloadable fantasy RPG game from Spiderweb Software studio. It is a typical turn-based classic title in which the player controls one character, who is being developed during the game and regularly equipped with the appropriate gear to help him on his journey. Avernum 3: Ruined Word is the culmination of the epic fantasy trilogy.

How to Download Avernum 3: Ruined World

The game can be downloaded in a digital distribution from both the Steam and GOG platforms. To start the download, click on the Download button at the end of the review.

The Story and the Gameplay

The backstory is the destruction of the world, as a result of which the hero returns to a completely alien reality. The world as he knew it was utterly destroyed and ravaged. The player gradually uncovers the secrets of the game and gets closer to the heart of the problem. His main task, as you can guess, is to save what’s left of the world.

In the game, you explore an impressive open world, which is also changing in front of your eyes. The survivors are hiding in underground tunnels, wanting to break free, but this is a dangerous endeavor. Your quest is not only to pave your way to the surface but also to remain there. In the process, you will fight various beasts and human enemies. During the game, as befits this type of games, you will acquire new skills and weapons. Avernum 3 is embellished with nice although slightly miniature graphics. The old-school atmosphere is complemented by pleasant music

Avernum 3: Ruined World is the next title in the series (see the box The History of the Avernum Series), however, it is an independent game and the knowledge of what has been happening in previous parts is not obligatory to enjoy the game. The vastness of the game world – underground tunnels and a huge continent on the surface, as well as numerous quests to be completed, will give let you spend at least 60 hours in the game. The spells (over 60 types) and numerous combat maneuvers will allow you to create a multitude of combinations of attacks and defenses, depending on the situation. In addition, you will visit over 100 different locations such as cities, villages and underground. The game world features various races of creatures. More than a hundred of available side quests and artifacts to find make this free game offer almost as many possibilities as high-budget productions of renowned studios. Great playability guaranteed.

The mission objective in Avernum 3: Ruined World is to find the most peaceful, rich and safe place where your people, under your protection can live and prosper. Pushed into underground corridors, they are now waiting for an opportunity to break free and start a normal life after the cataclysm has destroyed the world as they knew it. So it’s all up to you. Your hero has to find this safe haven and let your people settle there.

During your mission, you will face many dangers and as it happens in RPG games you will fight monsters of various levels and skills. The arsenal of weapons and spells you will have at your disposal at any current moment will decide whether you win or suffer defeat, so it’s worth at least knowing how to use it well. The availability of side quests such as paid orders from city residents that you encounter along the way will ensure the inflow of gold. This will allow you to expand your equipment and hone your skills. All of that will increases the chance of saving our people.

The History of Avernum Series

The first Avernum trilogy began in 2000 when Avernum and Avernum 2 were released. Avernum 3 followed two years later. In 2004, the fans were treated to the spin-off – Blades of Avernum.

The second trilogy consists of  Avernum 4 (2005), Avernum 5 (2007) and Avernum 6: Prison Break (2009). It is worth knowing that these games always appeared first on the Macintosh computers, and only a few months later were released as Windows versions.

The latest trilogy is the reboot of the first series using a modern game engine, with better graphics and more plot.

Avernum: Escape from the Pit released in 2011 contains the story of the first Avernum and the 1995 game Exile: Escape from the Pit.

Avernum 2: Cystal Souls (2015) is the mix of Avernum 2 and Exile II: Crystal Souls (1996).

Finally, Avernum 3: Ruined World (2018) is a combination of Avernum 3 and Exile III: Ruined World (1997).

Avernum 3: Ruined World
Avernum 3: Ruined World is a classic turn-based RPG game with a view from above. Enter a vast open world and save humanity. Download the game today.
9 Total Score

User Rating: Be the first one!
Spiderweb Software
Publisher Website
Operating System
Windows 7
Windows 8
Windows 10
full version
File Size
247 MB
Kasia Dalecka

Kasia Dalecka

Kasia Dalecka is a game reviewer from Poland. She's been playing video games since she was a little girl, and she's been writing about them for the past few years. Kasia has a passion for story-driven games, and she loves to find hidden gems that fly under the radar. When she's not writing or playing games, Kasia enjoys spending time with her family and friends, and exploring the great outdoors.

She has a cute cat Pola that snuggles on her lap while she's playing or writing.